Thinking Early About Gardening

I start planning things WAY in advance, you guys. So even though I won’t start planting my garden for a while, I’ve already been thinking about how I want to do it. I was hoping to start composting before we plant, but since we haven’t made much progress on the chickens or compost area yet (don’t worry, we will!), it probably won’t be ready to use for a while.

But check this out!!!!

Every year I start asking “When do I need to plant those seeds? How long does it take for those to grow?”, but no more! A genius woman over at http://www.yougrowgirl.com/ posted an Excel spreadsheet for the lazy gardener! All you have to do is click the picture, insert your last frost date and it calculates it all for you! I should send the creator some chocolate for this.

I already have mine saved and ready!This next year I plan to plant tomatoes, cucumbers, bell peppers, carrots, and maybe garlic. I don’t want to plant too much because I want to work on how to store them once they’re harvested and not let them go to waste, as in the past.

Here’s what the garden looks like now…empty except for one little bell pepper plant in the front that I’m not sure why its still there, lol.

And now for some garden eye candy! Does anyone know if I’m supposed to site these if I find them on pinterest? Not sure of all of the ‘blog rules’ yet. lol

Isn't this awesome?! I may try this...

So pretty!

So, how does your garden grow? Or if you don’t have one yet, how do you want it to grow?

One response to “Thinking Early About Gardening

  1. I really love the book “Square-Foot Gardening.” If you haven’t read it – it’s a must!

Leave a Reply

